Caution to the Wind
The title says it all. I quit my teaching job in New Zealand in 1980 to try my luck on the UK folk music scene, where John Zollman of Highway Records was brave enough to originally record this first collection of my songs in 1981, which I’m now putting out on my own Sagem label.  It includes my “Farewell to the Gold”, first recorded by the incomparable Nic Jones on his classic “Penguin Eggs” record and since covered by musicians all over the world, including Bob Dylan!  
I’m so lucky to have the help of other musicians I admire—Nic Jones, Helen Watson, Steve Turner and Mick Doonan
In the Hurricane’s Eye
Pacific Pilgrim
Fifth Quarter
Caution to the Wind
It seems hardly any time at all since I was first played a Paul Metsers song on a small tape recorder in Kendal. The song was “Farewell to the Gold”, which I immediately had to learn. At that time Paul was in New Zealand, where he had a well-established reputation as an accomplished songwriter and performer. He has since then moved across to England and sung his songs in many of the folk clubs here, earning a warm response for his immaculate melodies and the extremely singable choruses to his songs. The lyrics cover a variety of subjects; from gold prospecting in New Zealand to foxhunting, Sandy Denny to seal culling, proving him to be very worthwhile and welcome addition to the songwriting talents of the British folk club scene.
Nic Jones

  1  Writer’s Song

  2  Lose Myself in You

  3  A Thousand Years Today

  4  Ripple Away

  5  A Song for You at Last

  6  The Hunt

  7  Farewell to the Gold

  8  Sandy’s Song

  9  Day Comes Soon

10  Crossroads

11  The Seal Children

Words and music by Paul Metsers
“Farewell to the Gold” published by Topic Records (Music) Ltd  
All other titles published by Sagem
Download the lyrics for the songs
Lines of Lingering